This Is Why Women Have Body Image Issues

I just needed a new pair of shorts & all I got was lowered self-esteem

Emily Steele
8 min readDec 2, 2020

It was Saturday morning. We were at the local outlet mall. And I was about to try and make friends with my body, again.

I am a 5 foot 2, curvy, 25 year old white female. It’s summer. And I need a pair of jean shorts.

That’s all.

Coincidentally, my boyfriend is also in the market for a new pair of shorts today. For (sad) humor & comparison sake, here’s the story of him shopping for a new pair of shorts.

Me: “You need some new shorts. Those have a huge hole in the butt.”

Michael: *looks at tag in back of shorts* “Alright. These are from Gap. Let’s go to Gap.”

We go to Gap.

It takes me all of 2 minutes to peruse the women’s section and find that they have no jean shorts in an age-appropriate style. They have completely skipped my age group and catered right to 10 year olds and their mothers. Smart move, Gap.

I find Michael piling shorts into his arms, all the same size.

“Do you want to take a couple sizes in the dressing room in case this size doesn’t work?” I ask, “Maybe they’ve changed the cut since you last bought these…”

--

--

Emily Steele

lifter of heavy things: thoughts, words, weights, burdensome beliefs